In South Dakota, 17.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 106,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. South Dakota ranks 19th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 12.5% smoke in South Dakota. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. South Dakota ranks 44th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,100 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 239.2/100,000. South Dakota's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 11th among the states.
South Dakota has a smoke-free law that provides for partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in South Dakota than in the nation overall. Currently, South Dakota ranks 33rd among states for workplace exposure, at 8.3%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In South Dakota, 9.8% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in South Dakota provides no coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. South Dakota's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. South Dakota's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In South Dakota, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 76.7% of South Dakota homes have this rule. South Dakota ranks 24th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. South Dakota's major media market(s) aired an average of 23 youth TRPs and 218 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. South Dakota ranks 24th among states for the number of youth TRPs and 17th among states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
South Dakota preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions. South Dakota allows local regulation on sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
South Dakota does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
South Dakota maintains a $1.53 per pack tax and ranks 20th among the states.
South Dakota has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4.5 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 23% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund South Dakota's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, South Dakota's funding for tobacco control was 15.7% of the recommended level. South Dakota ranks 28th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348