In Rhode Island, 17.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 142,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Rhode Island ranks 17th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.3% smoke in Rhode Island. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Rhode Island ranks 30th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,700 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 266.8/100,000. Rhode Island's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 27th among the states.
Rhode Island has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Rhode Island than in the nation overall. Currently, Rhode Island ranks 4th among the states for workplace exposure, at 4.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Rhode Island, 3.8% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Rhode Island provides no coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Rhode Island's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for neither bupropion nor varenicline. Rhode Island's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Rhode Island, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 77.9% of Rhode Island homes have this rule. Rhode Island ranks 22nd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Rhode Island has no reported TRP or GRP data.
Rhode Island allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Rhode Island requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Rhode Island maintains a $3.46 per pack tax and ranks 1st among the states.
Rhode Island has a minimum price law. Wholesalers and retailers may not sell cigarettes below replacement costs. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 9% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Rhode Island's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Rhode Island's funding for tobacco control was 14.6% of the recommended level. Rhode Island ranks 30th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348