In Oregon, 16.3% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 476,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Oregon ranks 11th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.7% smoke in Oregon. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Oregon ranks 16th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 5,000 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 263.3/100,000. Oregon's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 26th among the states.
Oregon has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Oregon than in the nation overall. Currently, Oregon ranks 9th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.1%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Oregon, 6.4% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Oregon provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Oregon's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Oregon's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual, group and telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Oregon, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 84.8% of Oregon homes have this rule. Oregon ranks 5th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Oregon's major media market(s) aired an average of 60 youth TRPs and 363 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Oregon ranks 18th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 13th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Oregon allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Oregon does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Oregon maintains a $1.18 per pack tax and ranks 26th among the states.
Oregon does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 13% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Oregon's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Oregon's funding for tobacco control was 11.1% of the recommended level. Oregon ranks 35th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348