In North Dakota, 18.1% of the adult population (ages 18+ years)—over 90,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. North Dakota ranks 24th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 12.4% smoke in North Dakota. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. North Dakota ranks 43rd among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 900 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 225.6/100,000. North Dakota's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 4th among the states.
North Dakota has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding two weeks has remained lower in North Dakota than in the nation overall. Currently, North Dakota ranks 12th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In North Dakota, 4.3% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in North Dakota provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. North Dakota's Medicaid policy provides coverage for bupropion, but not varenicline. North Dakota's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In North Dakota, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 74.8% of North Dakota homes have this rule. North Dakota ranks 32nd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. North Dakota's major media market(s) aired an average of 0 youth TRPs and 0 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. North Dakota ranks 38th for the number of youth TRPs and 40th for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
North Dakota allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
North Dakota requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
North Dakota maintains a $0.44 per pack tax and ranks 45th among the states.
North Dakota does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 21% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund North Dakota's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, North Dakota's funding for tobacco control was 47.1% of the recommended level. North Dakota ranks 9th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348