In New Mexico, 19.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 286,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. New Mexico ranks 31st among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.8% smoke in New Mexico. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. New Mexico ranks 36th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 2,100 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 234.0/100,000. New Mexico's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 5th among the states.
New Mexico has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding two weeks has remained higher in New Mexico than in the nation overall. Currently, New Mexico ranks 47th among the states for workplace exposure, at 10.2%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In New Mexico, 3.9% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in New Mexico provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. New Mexico's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. New Mexico's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling, and this coverage is available by fee-for-service when a valid behavioral health diagnosis other than tobacco dependence exists.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In New Mexico, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 76.7% of New Mexico homes have this rule. New Mexico ranks 24th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience anti-tobacco media campaigns per quarter. New Mexico's major media market(s) aired an average of 80 youth TRPs and 253 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. New Mexico ranks 13th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 16th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
New Mexico preempts local regulation of tobacco industry sampling. New Mexico allows local regulation on promotions and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
New Mexico does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for over the counter and for vending machine sales.
New Mexico maintains a $0.91 per pack tax and ranks 31st among the states.
New Mexico does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 23% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund New Mexico's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, New Mexico's funding for tobacco control was 38.9% of the recommended level. New Mexico ranks 13th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348