In New Jersey, 14.8% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 980,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. New Jersey ranks 3rd among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.1% smoke in New Jersey. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. New Jersey ranks 8th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 11,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 239.5/100,000. New Jersey's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 12th among the states.
New Jersey has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding two weeks has remained lower in New Jersey than in the nation overall. Currently, New Jersey ranks 13th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In New Jersey, 5.1% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in New Jersey provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. New Jersey's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. New Jersey's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In New Jersey, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 82.0% of New Jersey homes have this rule. New Jersey ranks 10th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. New Jersey has no reported data.
New Jersey allows local regulation on tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
New Jersey requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
New Jersey maintains a $2.70 per pack tax and ranks 4th among the states.
New Jersey has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 6 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund New Jersey's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, New Jersey's funding for tobacco control was 10.4% of the recommended level. New Jersey ranks 36th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348