In New Hampshire, 17.1% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 174,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. New Hampshire ranks 16th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.8% smoke in New Hampshire. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. New Hampshire ranks 18th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,800 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 272.4/100,000. New Hampshire's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 30th among the states.
New Hampshire has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in New Hampshire than in the nation overall. Currently, New Hampshire ranks 5th among the states for workplace exposure, at 4.5%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In New Hampshire, 2.1% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in New Hampshire provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. New Hampshire's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. New Hampshire's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling, and this coverage is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In New Hampshire, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 80.7% of New Hampshire homes have this rule. New Hampshire ranks 14th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. New Hampshire has no reported data.
New Hampshire allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
New Hampshire requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
New Hampshire maintains a $1.78 per pack tax and ranks 16th among the states.
New Hampshire does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 11% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund New Hampshire's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, New Hampshire's funding for tobacco control was 5.9% of the recommended level. New Hampshire ranks 42nd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348