In Nevada, 22.2% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 428,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Nevada ranks 43rd among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 10.2% smoke in Nevada. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Nevada ranks 20th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 3,300 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 343.7/100,000. Nevada's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 49th among the states.
Nevada has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Nevada than in the nation overall. Currently, Nevada ranks 51st among the states for workplace exposure, at 16.9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Nevada, 1.4% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Nevada provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Nevada's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Nevada's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Nevada, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 81.7% of Nevada homes have this rule. Nevada ranks 11th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points TRPs in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Nevada's major media market(s) aired an average of 4 youth TRPs and 18 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Nevada ranks 33rd among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 34th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Nevada preempts local regulation on promotions and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments. Nevada allows local regulation of tobacco industry sampling.
Nevada requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Nevada maintains a $0.80 per pack tax and ranks 34th among the states.
Nevada does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 19% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Nevada's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Nevada's funding for tobacco control was 14.6% of the recommended level. Nevada ranks 31st among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348