In Nebraska, 18.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 245,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Nebraska's ranks 26th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.0% smoke in Nebraska. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Nebraska ranks 27th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 2,300 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 235.8/100,000. Nebraska's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 7th among the states.
Nebraska has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Nebraska than in the nation overall. Currently, Nebraska ranks 27th among the states for workplace exposure, at 7.6%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Nebraska, 0.4% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Nebraska only covers bupropion without prior authorization; therefore, it could have been used for smoking cessation, although this was not the intention of the coverage policy.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Nebraska, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 76.7% of Nebraska homes have this rule. Nebraska ranks 24th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Nebraska's major media market(s) aired an average of 106 youth TRPs and 631 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Nebraska ranks 11th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 8th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Nebraska allows local regulation on promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Nebraska requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Nebraska maintains a $0.64 per pack tax and ranks 38th among the states.
Nebraska has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4.75 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 20% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Nebraska's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Nebraska's funding for tobacco control was 20.3% of the recommended level. Nebraska ranks 23rd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348