In Montana, 18.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 138,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Montana ranks 28th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 12.2% smoke in Montana. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Montana ranks 41st among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,400 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 276.0/100,000. Montana's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 32nd among the states.
Montana has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Montana than in the nation overall. Currently, Montana ranks 24th among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.8%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Montana, 9.7% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Montana provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Montana's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Montana's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Montana, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 79.4% of Montana homes have this rule. Montana ranks 18th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Montana has no reported TRP or GRP data.
Montana preempts local regulation of tobacco industry sampling. Montana allows local regulation on promotions and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Montana requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Montana maintains a $1.70 per pack tax and ranks 17th among the states.
Montana has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 5.75 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 10 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Montana's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Montana's funding for tobacco control was 57.3% of the recommended level. Montana ranks 7th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348