In Missouri, 25% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 1,120,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Missouri ranks 48th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.8% smoke in Missouri. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Missouri ranks 38th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 9,600 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 307.8/100,000. Missouri's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 42nd among the states.
Missouri does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Missouri than in the nation overall. Currently, Missouri ranks 50th among the states for workplace exposure, at 12.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Missouri, 1.7% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Missouri covered none of the tobacco dependence treatments recommended by the U.S. Public Health Service's Clinical Practice Guideline.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Missouri, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 69.5% of Missouri homes have this rule. Missouri ranks 45th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Missouri's major media market(s) aired an average of 2 youth TRPs and 8 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Missouri ranks 34th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 36th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Missouri allows local regulation tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Missouri does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Missouri maintains a $0.17 per pack tax and ranks 50th among the states.
Missouri does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 30% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Missouri's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Missouri's funding for tobacco control was 1.7% of the recommended level. Missouri ranks 49th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348