In Mississippi, 22.7% of the adult population (ages 18+ years)—over 493,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Mississippi ranks 45th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.4% smoke in Mississippi. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Mississippi ranks 10th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 4,800 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 333.6/100,000. Mississippi's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 48th among the states.
Mississippi does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Mississippi than in the nation overall. Currently, Mississippi ranks 45th among the states for workplace exposure, at 10.2%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Mississippi, 5.0% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Mississippi provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Mississippi's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Mississippi's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling, and this coverage is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Mississippi, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 72.7% of Mississippi homes have this rule. Mississippi ranks 38th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Mississippi's major media market(s) aired an average of 0 youth TRPs and 0 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Mississippi ranks 38th for the number of youth TRPs and 40th for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Mississippi preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Mississippi requires all establishments selling tobacco products by vending machine and over the counter to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Mississippi maintains a $0.68 per pack tax and ranks 37th among the states.
Mississippi has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 2 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 6 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 25% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Mississippi's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Mississippi's funding for tobacco control was 1.4% of the recommended level. Mississippi ranks 50th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348