In Minnesota, 17.6% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 695,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Minnesota ranks 19th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.7% smoke in Minnesota. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Minnesota ranks 32nd among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 5,500 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 215.1/100,000. Minnesota's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 3rd among the states.
Minnesota has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Minnesota than in the nation overall. Currently, Minnesota ranks 16th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of current smokers could access quitlines each year. In Minnesota, 3.7% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Minnesota provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Minnesota's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Minnesota's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Minnesota, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 79.3% of Minnesota homes have this rule. Minnesota ranks 20th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Minnesota's major media market(s) aired an average of 15 youth TRPs and 67 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Minnesota ranks 28th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 29th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Minnesota allows local regulation of tobacco industry display, promotions, and sampling of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Minnesota does not require establishments selling tobacco products by vending machine nor over the counter to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Minnesota maintains a $1.23 per pack tax and ranks 25th among the states.
Minnesota has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4.5 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 10% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Minnesota's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Minnesota's funding for tobacco control was 39.2% of the recommended level. Minnesota ranks 12th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348