In Michigan, 20.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 1,557,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Michigan ranks 36th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 10.7% smoke in Michigan. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Michigan ranks 24th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 14,500 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 281.9/100,000. Michigan's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 34th among the states.
Michigan does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Michigan than in the nation overall. Currently, Michigan ranks 34th among the states for workplace exposure, at 8.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Michigan, 2.1% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Michigan provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Michigan's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Michigan's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual counseling, but not group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Michigan, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 70.9% of Michigan homes have this rule. Michigan ranks 43rd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience anti-tobacco media campaigns per quarter. Michigan's major media market(s) aired an average of 37 youth TRPs and 151 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Michigan ranks 21st among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 20th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Michigan preempts local regulation of tobacco industry display of tobacco products in commercial establishments. Michigan allows local regulation on promotions and sampling.
Michigan requires establishments selling tobacco products by vending machine, but not over the counter, to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Michigan maintains a $2.00 per pack tax and ranks 11th among the states.
Michigan does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 9% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Michigan's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Michigan's funding for tobacco control was 2.1% of the recommended level. Michigan ranks 48th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348