In Maryland, 14.9% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 640,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Maryland ranks 4th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 8.8% smoke in Maryland. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Maryland ranks 6th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 6,900 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 261.9/100,000. Maryland's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 23rd among the states.
Maryland has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Maryland than in the nation overall. Currently, Maryland ranks 21st among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of current smokers could access quitlines each year. In Maryland, 2.2% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Maryland provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Maryland's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Maryland's Medicaid policy does provide coverage for individual counseling, but not for group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Maryland, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 81.5% of Maryland homes have this rule. Maryland ranks 12th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Maryland's major media market(s) aired an average of 22 youth TRPs and 171 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Maryland ranks 26th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 18th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Maryland allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Maryland requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Maryland maintains a $2.00 per pack tax and ranks 11th among the states.
Maryland has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 5 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 15% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Maryland's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Maryland's funding for tobacco control was 32.2% of the recommended level. Maryland ranks 17th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348