In Maine, 18.2% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 189,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Maine ranks 25th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17, 11.4% smoke in Maine. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Maine ranks 31st among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 2,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 289.8/100,000. Maine's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 36th among the states.
Maine has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Maine than in the nation overall. Currently, Maine ranks 7th among the states for workplace exposure, at 4.7%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Maine, 10.9% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Maine provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Maine's Medicaid policy provides coverage for varenicline, but not for bupropion. Maine's Medicaid policy does provide coverage for individual counseling, but not group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Maine, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 75.8% of Maine homes have this rule. Maine ranks 27th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Maine's major media market(s) aired an average of 1 youth TRP and 11 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Maine ranks 36th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 35th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Maine allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Maine requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Maine maintains a $2.00 per pack tax and ranks 11th among the states.
Maine does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 9% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Maine's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Maine's funding for tobacco control was 85.5% of the recommended level. Maine ranks 1st among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348