In Louisiana, 20.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 675,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Louisiana ranks 37th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.0% smoke in Louisiana. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Louisiana ranks 26th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 6,500 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 299.8/100,000. Louisiana's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 41st among the states.
Louisiana has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Louisiana than in the nation overall. Currently, Louisiana ranks 41st among the states for workplace exposure, at 9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Louisiana, 0.6% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Louisiana provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Louisiana's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Louisiana's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for group, individual, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Louisiana, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 74.7% of Louisiana homes have this rule. Louisiana ranks 33rd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Louisiana's major media market(s) aired an average of 62 youth TRPs and 157 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Louisiana ranks 17th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 19th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Louisiana preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions and sampling. Louisiana allows local regulation on display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Louisiana requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Louisiana maintains a $0.36 per pack tax and ranks 48th among the states.
Louisiana has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 2 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 6 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 20% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Louisiana's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Louisiana's funding for tobacco control was 17.2% of the recommended level. Louisiana ranks 26th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348