In Kansas, 17.9% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 376,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Kansas ranks 23rd among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.9% smoke in Kansas. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Kansas ranks 39th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 3,900 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 262.7/100,000. Kansas's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 24th among the states.
Kansas does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding two weeks has remained higher in Kansas than in the nation overall. Currently, Kansas ranks 29th among the states for workplace exposure, at 7.9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Kansas, 1.9% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Kansas provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Kansas's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Kansas's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for group, individual, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Kansas, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 75.5% of Kansas homes have this rule. Kansas ranks 28th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Kansas's major media market(s) aired an average of 29 youth TRPs and 138 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Kansas ranks 23rd among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 22nd among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Kansas allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Kansas requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Kansas maintains a $0.79 per pack tax and ranks 35th among the states.
Kansas does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 19% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Kansas's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Kansas's funding for tobacco control was 7.5% of the recommended level. Kansas ranks 38th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348