In Iowa, 18.8% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 429,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Iowa ranks 29th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.7% smoke in Iowa. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Iowa ranks 33rd among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 4,400 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 248.0/100,000. Iowa's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 17th among the states.
Iowa has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Iowa than in the nation overall. Currently, Iowa ranks 44th among the states for workplace exposure, at 10.1%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Iowa, 0.7% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Iowa provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Iowa's Medicaid policy provides coverage for bupropion, but not for varenicline. Iowa's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for group or telephone counseling, but does provide coverage individual counseling, and this coverage is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Iowa, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 72.4% of Iowa homes have this rule. Iowa ranks 40th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Iowa's major media market(s) aired an average of 249 youth TRPs and 969 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Iowa ranks 7th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 5th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Iowa allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Iowa requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Iowa maintains a $1.36 per pack tax and ranks 22nd among the states.
Iowa has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 25% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Iowa's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Iowa's funding for tobacco control was 21.0% of the recommended level. Iowa ranks 21st among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348