In Indiana, 26.0% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 1,247,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Indiana ranks 50th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.8% smoke in Indiana. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Indiana ranks 35th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 9,700 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 308.9/100,000. Indiana's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 43rd among the states.
Indiana does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Indiana than in the nation overall. Currently, Indiana ranks 37th among the states for workplace exposure, at 8.7%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Indiana, 0.6% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Indiana provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Indiana's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Indiana's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Indiana, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 66.2% of Indiana homes have this rule. Indiana ranks 48th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Indiana's major media market(s) aired an average of 266 youth TRPs and 722 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Indiana ranks 5th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 6th for general audience GRPs aired.
Indiana preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Indiana requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Indiana maintains a $0.995 per pack tax and ranks 29th among the states.
Indiana has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4.5 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 17% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Indiana's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Indiana's funding for tobacco control was 15.3% of the recommended level. Indiana ranks 29th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348