In Illinois, 21.3% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 2,072,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Illinois ranks 39th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 10.2% smoke in Illinois. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Illinois ranks 21st among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 16,600 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 263.1/100,000. Illinois's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 25th among the states.
Illinois has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Illinois than in the nation overall. Currently, Illinois ranks 36th among the states for workplace exposure, at 8.5%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Illinois, 2.4% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Illinois provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Illinois's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Illinois's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Illinois, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 73.8% of Illinois homes have this rule. Illinois ranks 34th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating point (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Illinois's major media market(s) aired an average of 14 youth TRPs and 146 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Illinois ranks 29th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 21st among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Illinois allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Illinois requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Illinois maintains a $0.98 per pack tax, ranking 30th among the states.
Illinois does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 17% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Illinois's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Illinois's funding for tobacco control was 6.3% of the recommended level. Illinois ranks 40th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348