In Idaho, 16.9% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 187,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Idaho ranks 15th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth ages 12–17 years, 8.9% smoke in Idaho. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Idaho ranks 7th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,500 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 237.4/100,000. Idaho's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 8th among the states.
Idaho has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Idaho than in the nation overall. Currently, Idaho ranks 14th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.5%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Idaho, 2.5% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Idaho provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Idaho's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Idaho's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Idaho, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 87.3% of Idaho homes have this rule. Idaho ranks 3rd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Idaho's major media market(s) aired an average of 14 youth TRPs and 99 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Idaho ranks 30th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 28th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Idaho allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Idaho requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter but not by vending machines to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Idaho maintains a $0.57 per pack tax, ranking 42nd among the states.
Idaho does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 23% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Idaho's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Idaho's funding for tobacco control was 12.8% of the recommended level. Idaho ranks 33rd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348