In Hawaii, 15.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 154,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Hawaii ranks 5th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth ages 12–17, 6.8% smoke in Hawaii. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Hawaii ranks 2nd among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 167.6/100,000. Hawaii's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 2nd among the states.
Hawaii has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Hawaii than in the nation overall. Currently, Hawaii ranks 28th among the states for workplace exposure, at 7.9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Hawaii, 6.0% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Hawaii provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Hawaii's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline, but only after the gum or patch was used in conjunction with quitline support for 2 weeks. Hawaii's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Hawaii, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 83.7% of Hawaii homes have this rule. Hawaii ranks 7th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience anti-tobacco media campaigns per quarter. Hawaii's major media market(s) aired an average of 134 youth TRPs and 1003 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Hawaii ranks 9th for the number of youth TRPs and 4th of general audience GRPs aired.
Hawaii allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Hawaii requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Hawaii maintains a $2.60 per pack tax and ranks 5th among the states.
Hawaii does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Hawaii's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Hawaii's funding for tobacco control was 66.6% of the recommended level. Hawaii ranks 5th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348