In Georgia, 19.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 1,393,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Georgia ranks 32nd among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 10.0% smoke in Georgia. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Georgia ranks 19th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 10,500 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 299.4/100,000. Georgia's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 40th among the states.
Georgia does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Georgia than in the nation overall. Currently, Georgia ranks 22nd among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.5%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Georgia, 1.2% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Georgia only covers bupropion without prior authorization; therefore, it could have been used for smoking cessation, although this was not the intention of the coverage policy.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Georgia, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 79.2% of Georgia homes have this rule. Georgia ranks 20th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Georgia's major media market(s) aired an average of 0 youth TRPs and 0 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Georgia ties for last for the number of youth TRPs and the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Georgia allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Georgia requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.
Georgia maintains a $0.37 per pack tax, ranking 47th among the states.
Georgia does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 30% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Georgia's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Georgia's funding for tobacco control was 2.7% of the recommended level. Georgia ranks 46th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348