In Florida, 17.5% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 2,509,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Florida ranks 18th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.5% smoke in Florida. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Florida ranks 13th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 28,600 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 258.8/100,000. Florida's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 20th among the states.
Florida has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Florida than in the nation overall. Currently, Florida ranks 10th among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.3%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Florida, 1.5% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Florida provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Florida's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Florida's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Florida, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 84.0% of Florida homes have this rule. Florida ranks 6th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Florida's major media market(s) aired an average of 321 youth TRPs and 1183 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Florida ranks 3rd among the states for the number of youth TRPs and general audience GRPs aired.
Florida allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Florida requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Florida maintains a $1.339 per pack tax and ranks 23rd among the states.
Florida does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 25% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Florida's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Florida's funding for tobacco control was 3.1% of the recommended level. Florida ranks 45th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348