In Delaware, 17.8% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 118,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Delaware ranks 22nd among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.3% smoke in Delaware. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Delaware ranks 9th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 280.9/100,000. Delaware's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 33rd among the states.
Delaware has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Delaware than in the nation overall. Currently, Delaware ranks 1st among the states for workplace exposure, at 2.8%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Delaware, 8.3% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Delaware provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Delaware's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Delaware's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Delaware, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 77.5% of Delaware homes have this rule. Delaware ranks 23rd among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Delaware has no reported data.
Delaware preempts local regulation of tobacco industry sampling. Delaware allows local regulation on promotions and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Delaware requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Delaware maintains a $1.60 per pack tax and ranks 18th among the states.
Delaware has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 5%. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 13% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Delaware's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Delaware's funding for tobacco control was 79.4% of the recommended level. Delaware ranks 2nd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348