In Connecticut, 15.9% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 428,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Connecticut ranks 8th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.8% smoke in Connecticut. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Connecticut ranks 17th among the states.
Among adults ages 35+ years, over 4,800 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 238.3/100,000. Connecticut's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 10th among the states.
Connecticut does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Connecticut than in the nation overall. Currently, Connecticut ranks 26th among the states for workplace exposure, at 7.4%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Connecticut, 2.1% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Connecticut covered none of the tobacco dependence treatments recommended by the U.S. Public Health Service's Clinical Practice Guideline.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Connecticut, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 79.5% of Connecticut homes have this rule. Connecticut ranks 16th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience anti-tobacco media campaigns per quarter. Connecticut's major media market(s) aired an average of 50 youth TRPs and 59 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Connecticut ranks 19th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 30th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Connecticut allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Connecticut requires all establishments selling tobacco products over-the-counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Connecticut maintains a $3.00 per pack tax, ranking 2nd among the states.
Connecticut has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 6.5% and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8%. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Connecticut's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Connecticut's funding for tobacco control was 7.0% of the recommended level. Connecticut ranks 39th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348