In Arkansas, 22.3% of the adult population (aged 18+ years) — over 480,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Arkansas ranks 44th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12-17 years, 14.5% smoke in Arkansas. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Arkansas ranks 49th among the states.
Among adults ages 35+ years, over 4,900 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 323.7/100,000. Arkansas's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 45th among the states.
Arkansas has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Arkansas than in the nation overall. Currently, Arkansas ranks 19th among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.2%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Arkansas, 3.0% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Arkansas provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Arkansas's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Arkansas's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual counseling, but not group or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Arkansas, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 65.1% of Arkansas homes have this rule. Arkansas ranks 49th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience anti-tobacco media campaigns per quarter. Arkansas's major media market(s) aired an average of 49 youth TRPs and 52 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Arkansas ranks 20th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 31st among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Arkansas allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Arkansas requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.
Arkansas maintains a $1.15 per pack tax and ranks 27th among the states.
Arkansas has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 7 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 18% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Arkansas's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Arkansas's funding for tobacco control was 44.3% of the recommended level. Arkansas ranks 10th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348