In Arizona, 15.9% of the adult population (aged 18+ years) — over 762,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Arizona ranks 7th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 10.6% smoke in Arizona. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Arizona ranks 23rd among the states.
Among adults ages 35+ years, over 6,900 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 247.4/100,000. Arizona's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 15th among the states.
Arizona has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Arizona than in the nation overall. Currently, Arizona ranks 23rd among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.7%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Arizona, 1.5% of current smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Arizona provides no coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Arizona's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for bupropion or varenicline. Arizona's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual counseling, but not group or telephone counseling, and this coverage is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Arizona, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 82.6% of Arizona homes have this rule. Arizona ranks 8th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Arizona's major media market(s) aired an average of 23 youth TRPs and 111 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Arizona ranks 25th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 26th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Arizona allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Arizona requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter but not by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.
Arizona maintains a $2.00 per pack tax, and ranks 11th among the states.
Arizona does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 18% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Arizona's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Arizona's funding for tobacco control was 38.2% of the recommended level. Arizona ranks 14th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348