Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Board of Scientific Counselors Membership List

As of November 2013


  • Thomas V. Inglesby, MD
    Director and CEO, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Center for Health Security
    Term: 3/7/2011 – 9/30/2015

Special Government Employees

  • Ruth G. Bernheim
    Chair, Department of Public Health Services and Associate Professor of Information Sciences, University of Virginia School of Medicine
    Term: 11/20/2012 – 09/30/2016
  • Margaret L. Brandeau, PhD
    Professor of Engineering, Department of Management Science and Engineering, Stanford University
    Term: 5/10/2012 – 9/30/2015
  • John Lumpkin, MD, MPH
    Senior Vice President and Director, Health Care Group, Robert Woods Johnson Foundation
    Term: 3/7/2011 – 9/30/2014
  • Ellen J. Mackenzie, PhD
    Professor and Chair, Department of Health Policy and Management, The Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health
    Term: 5/5/2012 – 9/30/2015
  • Suzet McKinney, DrPH, MPH
    Deputy Commissioner, Bureau of Public Health Preparedness and Emergency Response/Bioterrorism Program, Chicago Department of Public Health
    Term: 09/30/2013 – 09/30/2017
  • Ian I. Mitroff, PhD
    Adjunct Professor, College of Environmental Design and Research Associate, Center for Catastrophic Risk Management, University of California, Berkeley
    Term: 11/20/2012 – 9/30/2016
  • Carol S. North, MD, MPE
    Professor of Psychiatry and Director, Division of Trauma and Disaster, The University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center
    Term: 11/20/2012 – 9/30/2016
  • Richard D. Smith, PhD
    Chief Scientist, Biological Sciences Division, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    Term: 09/25/2013 – 09/30/2017

Ex-Officio Members

  • RADM Nicole Lurie, MD, MSPH (USPHS)
    Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
    Washington, DC
    Department of Health and Human Services
  • Kathryn Brinsfield, MD, MPH
    Assistant Secretary for Health Affairs and Chief Medical Officer
    Washington, DC
    Department of Homeland Security
  • Col Steven P. Niehoff, DVM, MPH, DACVPM (USAF)
    Director, Global Health Surveillance, Force Health Protection and Readiness, Defense Health Headquarters
    Falls, Church, VA
    Department of Defense

Executive Secretary and Designated Federal Official OPHPR BSC

  • Sam Groseclose, DVM, MPH, DACVPM
    Associate Director for Science, Office of Public Health Preparedness and Response
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    Atlanta, GA

Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    1600 Clifton Rd
    Atlanta, GA
    30329-4027 USA
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
  • Contact CDC–INFO

Prep Month 2014
Ready Wrigley.
Become a Partner The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #