Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2 : Nº 2, avril 2005

SUJETS SPÉCIAUX
RECHERCHE ORIGINALE : RÉSUMÉ D'ARTICLE PRÉSENTÉ À LA 19e CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE POUR LA PRÉVENTION ET LE CONTRÔLE DES MALADIES CHRONIQUES
Le dépistage du cancer colorectal chez les Latinos américains résidant dans les villes des États-Unis le long de la frontière entre le Texas et le Mexique : une étude qualitative


TABLE DES MATIÈRES


Translation available Ce résumé est en anglais
Print this article Imprimer ce résumé
E-mail this article Envoyer cet article
par courriel



Send feedback to editors Envoyer des commentaires aux éditeurs


Retourner à la
liste des résumés

Maria E. Fernandez, Isabel Torres, Sally Vernon, Theresa Byrd, Marilyn Hinjosa-Lindsey, Rosario Wippold, Yadvindera Bains

Référence suggérée pour cet article: Fernandez ME, Torres I, Vernon S, Byrd T, Hinjosa-Lindsey M, Wippold R, et al. Le dépistage du cancer colorectal chez les Latinos américains résidant dans les villes des États-Unis le long de la frontière entre le Texas et le Mexique : une étude qualitative [résumé]. Prev Chronic Dis [publication en série en ligne] Avril 2005 [date de la référence]. Disponible sur l'internet : URL : http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142w_fr.htm
.

ÉVALUÉ PAR LES PAIRS

Thème : Programmes fondés sur des résultats : recherche, concrétisation et évaluation

L'objectif de cette étude était d'identifier les facteurs influençant la décision des Hispaniques, résidant le long de la frontière entre le Texas et le Mexique, de faire un test de dépistage du cancer colorectal. Bien que le cancer colorectal soit l’une des causes principales de décès dû au cancer chez les Latinos américains, la plupart d'entre eux ne font pas les tests de dépistage recommandés pour cette maladie, et on sait peu de choses sur les types de facteurs susceptibles de déclencher chez eux une prise de décision éclairée à ce sujet.

Quatre groupes de discussion comprenant des hommes et des femmes originaires d'Amérique latine à faible revenu furent organisés en janvier 2004 dans trois sites différents : Brownsville, El Paso et Laredo (Texas). Ces groupes examinèrent les facteurs démographiques, psychosociaux et culturels potentiellement liés au dépistage du cancer colorectal, ainsi que des sujets plus généraux, tels que l'accès aux services de soins de santé, la perception de l'importance des soins de santé préventifs et les facteurs entourant les décisions concernant les soins de santé.

Les hommes aussi bien que les femmes participant à cette étude ont déclaré qu’ils dépendaient étroitement des remèdes maison, des remèdes galéniques et des médicaments sur ordonnance vendus de l'autre côté de la frontière, en partie à cause des obstacles financiers et du manque d'assurance santé. Dans tous les groupes, de nombreux participants déclarèrent être plus satisfaits des soins reçus du côté mexicain de la frontière en raison du prix plus abordable des médicaments et des visites médicales, et de leur perception des soins médicaux comme étant plus efficaces, plus flexibles, plus approfondis et plus humains au Mexique ; de surcroît, ils sont offerts en espagnol. Les connaissances, les attitudes et les croyances des participants liées au cancer reflétaient un mélange d'idées fausses et d'informations exactes, et les participants exprimèrent des sentiments variés sur la possibilité de vaincre le cancer. Ils associaient souvent le mot cancer à des descripteurs tels que : mort, peur, douleur, laideur, tristesse et désespoir.

La plupart des participants à cette étude avaient très peu de connaissances sur le cancer colorectal et encore moins sur son dépistage. Beaucoup d'entre eux ne faisaient pas bien la différence entre le cancer colorectal et le cancer de l'estomac ou de la prostate, et croyaient fermement que les hémorroïdes et la constipation non traitées faisaient partie des causes principales du cancer colorectal. Sur le plan personnel, les participants ont signalé les obstacles suivants, entre autres, au dépistage du cancer colorectal : gène, machisme, manque de connaissances et d'informations, procrastination, peur de poser des questions aux médecins, peur des procédures de dépistage elles-mêmes et peur de recevoir un diagnostic de cancer. Parmi les autres obstacles au dépistage du cancer colorectal identifiés par les participants, on peut signaler le manque de ressources financières ou d'assurance médicale, le fait de ne pas avoir de papiers en règle et des difficultés de transport.

Les résultats de ces groupes de discussion ont fourni des informations préliminaires très précieuses sur ce domaine de la santé des Latinos américains et guideront l'élaboration de programmes destinés à accroître le dépistage du cancer colorectal chez les Hispaniques à faible revenu résidant le long de la frontière entre le Texas et le Mexique.

Auteur-correspondant : Maria E. Fernandez, PhD, Professeur adjoint de promotion de la santé et des sciences du comportement, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Public Health, Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Research, 7000 Fannin St, Suite 2558, Houston, TX 77030, United States. Téléphone : 713-500-9626. Courriel : Maria.E.Fernandez@uth.tmc.edu.

 

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services

Skip Navigation Links
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
 CDC Home Search Health Topics A-Z

Preventing Chronic Disease: Public Health Research, Practice and Policy

View Current Issue
Issue Archive
Archivo de números en español








Emerging Infectious Diseases Journal
MMWR


 Home 

Volume 2: No. 2, April 2005

SPECIAL TOPICS
ORIGINAL RESEARCH: FEATURED ABSTRACT FROM THE 19TH NATIONAL CONFERENCE ON CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND CONTROL
Colorectal Cancer Screening Among Latinos From U.S. Cities Along the Texas–Mexico Border: A Qualitative Study


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Translation available Este resumen en español
  Ce résumé est en français
  這是英文摘要
  这是英文摘要
Print this abstract Print this abstract
E-mail this abstract E-mail this abstract:



Send feedback to editors Send feedback to editors
Download this abstract as a PDF Download this abstract as a PDF (115K)

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files.


Return to list
of abstracts

Maria E. Fernandez, Isabel Torres, Sally Vernon, Theresa Byrd, Marilyn Hinjosa-Lindsey, Rosario Wippold, Yadvindera Bains

Suggested citation for this article: Fernandez ME, Torres I, Vernon S, Byrd T, Hinjosa-Lindsey M, Wippold R, et al. Colorectal cancer screening among Latinos from U.S. cities along the Texas–Mexico border: a qualitative study [abstract]. Prev Chronic Dis [serial online] 2005 Apr [date cited]. Available from: URL: http://www.cdc.gov/pcd/issues/2005/
apr/04_0142w.htm
.

PEER REVIEWED

Track: Evidence-based Programs: Research, Translation, and Evaluation

The purpose of this study was to identify factors influencing the decision to undergo colorectal cancer screening among low-income Hispanics living along the Texas–Mexico border. Although colorectal cancer is a leading cause of cancer death among Latinos, most are not getting the recommended colorectal cancer screening (CRCS) tests, and little is known about what types of factors may influence informed decision making for CRCS among Latinos.

Four focus groups with low-income Latino men and women were conducted in January 2004 at each of three sites (Brownsville, El Paso, and Laredo, Tex). Demographic, psychosocial, and cultural factors potentially related to CRCS were addressed, as well as general issues such as access to health care services, perceptions about the importance of preventive health care, and factors surrounding health care decision making.

Both women and men in this study reported a heavy reliance on home remedies, herbal remedies, and prescription drugs bought across the border, in part because of financial barriers and lack of insurance. Many participants in all groups reported feeling more satisfied with the care they received on the Mexican side of the border because of lower-priced medications and office visits and perceptions that care in Mexico is more efficient, flexible, thorough, humane, and because it is offered using the Spanish language. The participants’ knowledge, attitudes, and beliefs related to cancer reflected a mixture of misconceptions and accurate information, and participants expressed varying beliefs about the survivability of cancer. Participants often associated the word cancer with descriptors such as death, fear, pain, ugliness, sadness, and hopelessness.

Most participants in this study knew very little about colorectal cancer and even less about CRCS. Many of them were confused about the differences between colorectal cancer and stomach or prostate cancers. There was also a strong belief that untreated hemorrhoids and constipation were major causes of colorectal cancer. Individual-level barriers to CRCS suggested by participants included embarrassment, machismo, lack of knowledge and information, procrastination, fear of questioning physicians, fear of the actual screening procedures, and fear of receiving a diagnosis of cancer. Other barriers to CRCS identified by participants included lack of health insurance or financial resources, being undocumented, and transportation barriers.

Results from these focus groups have provided much-needed preliminary information about this area of Latino health and will provide guidance for the development of interventions to increase CRCS among low-income Hispanics along the Texas–Mexico border.

Corresponding Author: Maria E. Fernandez, PhD, Assistant Professor of Health Promotion and Behavioral Sciences, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Public Health, Center for Health Promotion and Prevention Research, 7000 Fannin St, Suite 2558, Houston, TX 77030. Telephone: 713-500-9626. E-mail: Maria.E.Fernandez@uth.tmc.edu.

Back to top

 



 



The opinions expressed by authors contributing to this journal do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors’ affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by any of the groups named above.


 Home 

Privacy Policy | Accessibility

CDC Home | Search | Health Topics A-Z

This page last reviewed March 22, 2013

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
 HHS logoUnited States Department of
Health and Human Services