Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Occupational Safety and Health Contacts at State and Territorial Health Departments

 Gold US  CSTE logo 

Revised: Feburary 19, 2014
Compiled by: DSHEFS/Surveillance Branch
NIOSH, Mail Stop: R-17
4676 Columbia Parkway
Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998
Phone: (513) 841-4414
Send updates via E-mail to: BHaussler@cdc.gov

Alabama

Mary McIntyre, MD, MPH
Assistant State Health Officer for Disease Control & Prevention
Acting State Epidemiologist
Department of Public Health
RSA Towers
201 Monroe Street, Suite 1466
P.O. Box 303017
Montgomery, AL 36130-3017
Phone: (334) 206-5325
Fax: (334) 206-3734
Email: mary.mcintyre@adph.state.al.us

Alaska

Deborah Choromanski Hull-Jilly, M.P.H., C.L.S.
Manager, Injury Surveillance & Prevention Programs
Section of Epidemiology
Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
3601 C Street, Suite 540
Anchorage, AK 99503
Phone: (907) 269-8078
Fax: (907) 269-2041
E-mail: deborah.hull-jilly@alaska.gov

American Samoa

Dr. Ivan Tuliau
E-mail: Ivanlourdes@yahoo.com

Arizona

Diane Eckles
Office of Environmental Health
Arizona Department of Health Services
150 M 18th Avenue, Suite 430
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-3142
Fax: (602) 364-3146
E-mail: Diane.Ecklesd@azdhs.gov

Jennifer Botsford
Program Manager
Phone: (602) 364-3128
E-mail: jennifer.botsford@azdhs.gov

Arkansas

Shirley Louie
Associate Branch Chief
Epidemiology Branch
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street, Slot 32
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone: (501) 661-2833
Fax: (501) 280-4090
E-mail: Shirley.Louie@arkansas.gov

California

Barbara Materna, Ph.D., CIH
Chief, Occupational Health Branch
California Department of Public Health
Building P, 3rd Floor
850 Marina Bay Parkway
Richmond, CA 94804
Phone: (510) 620-5730
Fax: (510) 620-5743
E-mail: barbara.materna@cdph.ca.gov

Colorado

Meredith Towle, MPH 
Coordinator/Epidemiologist
Occupational Health and Safety Surveillance Program
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, A-3
Denver, CO 80246-1530
Phone: (303) 691-4938
Fax: (303) 759-5257
E-mail: meredith.towle@state.co.us

Amy Warner, MPH
Manager
Occupational Health and Safety Surveillance Program
Phone:(303) 692-2673
E-mail: amy.warner@state.co.us

Connecticut

Thomas St. Louis, MSPH
Program Director, Occupational Health and Special Projects
State of Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, Mail Stop: 11 OSP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT06134-0308
Phone: (860) 509-7759
Fax: (860) 509-7785
E-mail: thomas.st.louis@ct.gov

Delaware

William D. Leitzinger
Administrator, Office of Occupational Health
Health Systems Protection, Suite 205
Division of Public Health
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302) 744-4811
Cell: (302) 584-4631
E-mail: William.Leitzinger@state.de.us

District of Columbia

Pierre Vigilance
Director, District of Columbia Department of Health
825 N. Capitol Street, North East
Suite 44, South
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: (202) 442-5955
Fax: (202) 442-4795
E-mail: pierre vigilance@dc.gov

Kimberely Turner
Program Manager
Center for Policy, Planning and Evaluation
899 North Capitol Street, NE
Phone:(202) 442-9010
E-mail: kimberely.turner@dc.gov

Federated States of Micronesia*

 

Florida

Sharon M. Watkins, PhD
Senior Environmental Epidemiologist
Analytical Environmental Epidemiology Program
Florida Department of Health
Bureau of Environmental Public Health Medicine
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #A08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1742
Phone: (850) 245-4444, ext. 3939
Fax: (850) 922-8473
E-mail: Sharon_Watkins@doh.state.fl.us

Juanita Chalmers
Occupational Epidemiologist
Phone:(850) 245-4444, ext. 5117
E-mail: Juanita_Chalmers@doh.state.fl.us

Georgia

A. Rana Bayakly, MPH
Acting Director
Chronic Disease, Healthy Behaviors and Injury Epidemiology Section
GA Department of Community Health
Division of Public Health
2 Peachtree Street, Suite 14.283
Atlanta, GA 30303-3142
Phone: (404) 657-1943
Fax: (404) 463-0780
E-mail: arbayakly@dhr.state.ga.us

Cherie Drenzek, DVM, MS
State Epidemiologist, Suite 14.420
Phone:(404) 657-2609
Fax: (404) 657-7517
E-mail: cldrenzek@dhr.state.ga.us

Hawaii

Jennifer Shishido, C.I.H.
Administrator, Occupational Safety and Health Division
Department of Labor, and Industrial Relations
830 Punchbowl Street, Room 423
Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 586-9116
Fax: (808) 586-9104
E-mail: Jennifer.Shishido@osha.gov

Idaho

Elke Shaw-Tulloch, MHS 
Chief, Bureau of Community and Environmental Health
Division of Health
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
450 W. State Street, 6th Floor
Boise,ID 83720-0036
Phone: (208) 334-5950
Fax: (208) 334-6573
E-mail: shawe@dhw.idaho.gov

Robert Graff
Epidemiologist
450 W. State Street, 4th Floor
Phone:(208) 334-6521
E-mail: graffr@dhw.idaho.gov

 

Illinois

Craig S. Conover, MD 
Medical Director, Office of Health Protection
State Epidemiologist
Illinois Department of Public Health
122 South Michigan - 7th Floor
Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: (312) 814-4846
Fax: (312) 814-4844
E-mail: Craig.Conover@illinois.gov

Linda Forst
Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
2121 W. Taylor, MC 922
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone:(312) 355-3826
E-mail: forst-l@uic.edu

 

Indiana

James F. Howell, D.V.M., M.P.H., DACVPM
Deputy for Operations
Public Health Preparedness and Emergency Response
Acting State Epidemiologist
Indiana State Department of Health
2 N. Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 233-7272
Fax: (317) 234-2812
E-mail: jhowell@isdh.IN.gov

Pamela Pontones
State Epidemiologist
Phone:(317) 233-7861
E-mail: ppontones@isdh.in.gov

 

Iowa

Rita Gergely, MAG
Chief, Bureau of Lead Poisoning Prevention
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Phone: (800) 972-2026
Fax: (515) 281-4529
E-mail: rita.gergely@idph.iowa.gov

Kathy Leinenkugel
Occupational Health and Safety Surveillance Coordinator
Phone:(515) 281-4930
E-mail: kathy.leinenkugel@idph.iowa.gov

 

Kansas

D. Charles Hunt, MPH
State Epidemiologist
Director, Bureau of Surveillance & Epidemiology
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 210
Topeka, KS 66612-1365
Phone: (785) 296-1059
Fax: (785) 291-3775
E-mail: chunt@kdheks.gov

Farah S. Ahmed, MPH, PhD
Environmental Health Officer, Suite 330
Phone:(785) 296-6426
Fax: (785) 296-1231
E-mail: fahmed@kdheks.gov

 

Kentucky

Kraig Humbaugh, MD, MPH 
Director, Epidemiology and Health Planning
Department for Public Health
275 East Main Street, Mail Stop: HS2GWC
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-7243
Fax: (502) 564-9626
E-mail: Kraig.Humbaugh@ky.gov

Terry Bunn
Director, Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center
University of Kentucky
333 Walter Ave., Suite 202
Lexington, KY 40504
Phone:(859) 257-4955
E-mail: tbunn2@uky.edu

 

Louisiana

Michelle Lackovic, MPH 
Epidemiologist
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
1450 Poydras, Rm 1643
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 568-8160
Fax: (504) 568-8149
E-mail: Michelle.Lackovic@la.gov

 

Maine

Andrew E. Smith, S.M., Sc.D.
State Toxicologist
Director, Environmental and Occupational Health Programs
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Department of Health and Human Services
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Phone: (207) 287-5189
Fax: (207) 287-3981
E-mail: andy.e.smith@maine.gov

 

Mariana Islands*

 

Marshall Islands, Republic of*

 

Maryland

William Grabau
Senior Industrial Hygienist
Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Maryland Occupational Safety & Health Administration (MOSH)
1100 N. Eutaw Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-2209
Fax: (410) 767-2003
E-mail: William.Grabau@dol.gov

Clifford Mitchell
Acting Assistant Director, Environmental Health and Food Protection
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street, Rm 327
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:(410) 767-7438
E-mail: CMitchell@dhmh.state.md.us

 

Massachusetts

Letitia Davis, Sc.D.
Director, Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
250 Washington Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02108-4619
Phone: (617) 624-5626
Fax: (617) 624-5696
E-mail: letitia.davis@state.ma.us

 

Michigan

Kenneth Rosenman, MD
Department of Medicine
Michigan State University
117 W. Fee Hall
E. Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: (517) 353-1846
Fax: (517) 335-8800
E-mail: rosenman@msu.edu

Martha Stanbury, MSPH
State Administrative Manager
Division of Environmental Health
Michigan Department of Community Health
201 Townsend St.
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 335-8364
Fax: (517) 432-3606
E-mail: stanburym@michigan.gov

 

Minnesota

Alan Bender
Director, Chronic Disease and Environemental Epidemiology
Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Division
Minnesota Department of Health
P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
Phone: (651) 201-5882
E-mail: alan.bender@state.mn.us

Allan N. Williams, MPH, PhD
Center for Occupational Health & Safety
Chronic Disease & Environmental Epidemiology
Minnesota Department of Health
P.O. Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882
Phone: (651)201-5905
Fax: (651) 201-5898
E-mail: allan.williams@state.mn.us

 

Mississippi

Lei Zhang, PhD, MBA
MSDH Office of Health Data and Research
570 East Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39216-4538
601-576-8165
601-576-8168
E-mail: lei.zhang@msdh.ms.gov

Thomas Chester
Career Epidemiology Field Officer
Office of Communicable Diseases/Epidemiology
Phone:(601) 576-7725
E-mail: thomas.chester@msdh.state.ms.us

Missouri

Carol Braun
Epidemiology Specialist
Division of Community and Public Health
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Phone: (573) 526-4175
Fax: (573) 526-6946
E-mail: carol.braun@health.mo.gov

Sarah Patrick
Associate Professor
Saint Louis University
3545 Lafayette Ave.
Saint Louis, MO 63104
Phone:(573) 590-1703
E-mail: slpmag@yahoo.com

 

Montana

Steven D. Helgerson, M.D., MPH 
State Medical Officer
Department of Public Health and Human Services
PO Box 202951
111 N. Sanders Street
Helena, MT 59620
Phone: (406) 444-1286
Fax: (406) 444-6943
E-mail: shelgerson@mt.gov

Carol Ballew
State Epidemiologist
State of Montana
Chronic Disease Pevention and Health Promotion Bureau
1400 Broadway, Rm C317
Helena, MT 59620
Phone:(406) 444-6988
E-mail: cballew@mt.gov

 

Nebraska

Derry Stover, MPH
Epidemiology Surveillance Coordinator
Occupational Safety and Health Surveillance Program
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2822
Fax: (402) 471-8833
E-mail: derry.stover@nebraska.gov

Tom Safranek, M.D.
State Epidemiologist
Phone:(402) 471-0550
Fax: (402) 471-3601 E-mail: tom.safranek@nebraska.gov

 

Nevada

Ihsan Azzam, M.D., MPH 
State Medical Epidemiologist
Nevada State Office of Epidemiology
Nevada State Department of Health
4150 Technology Way, Suite 300
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-5946
Fax: (775) 684-4211
E-mail: iazzam@health.nv.gov

 

New Hampshire

Karla R. Armenti, ScD.
Principal Investigator
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Bureau of Public Health Statistics & Informatics
Division of Public Health Services
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
29 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 271-8425
Fax: (603) 271-7623
E-mail: karla.r.armenti@dhhs.state.nh.us

 

New Jersey

Joseph D. Eldridge, MPH 
Director, Consumer and Environmental Health Services
New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 369
Trenton, NJ 08625-0369
Phone: (609) 826-4920
Fax: (609) 826-4980
E-mail:Joseph.Eldridge@doh.state.nj.us

Jerald Fagliano
Program Manager
Phone:(609) 826-4984
E-mail: jerald.fagliano@doh.state.nj.us

 

New Mexico

Michael Landen, M.D., MPH
State Epidemiologist
Epidemiology and Response Division
New Mexico Department of Health
1190 Saint Francis Drive
P.O. Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM87502-6110
Phone: (505) 476-3575
Fax: (505) 827-0013
E-mail: Michael.Landen@state.nm.us

Stephanie Moraga-McHaley
Epidemiologist
Epidemiology and Response
New Mexico Department of Health
5301 Central Ave NE, Suite 900
Albuquerque, NM 87108
Phone:(505) 841-5894
E-mail: Stephanie.Moraga-Mc@state.nm.us

 

New York

Kitty H. Gelberg, Ph.D., MPH
Director
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower Room 1325
Albany, NY 12237
Phone: (518) 402-7900
Fax: (518) 402-7909
E-mail: khg01@health.state.ny.us

New York City

Chris D'Andrea, MS, CIH
Acting Director
Environmental and Occupational Disease Epidemiology
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
125 Worth Street Room 630
New York, NY 10013
Phone: (212) 788-4814
Fax: (212) 788-4299
E-mail: cdandrea@health.nyc.gov

 

North Carolina

Sheila A. Higgins, RN, MPH, COHN-S
Manager Occupational Surveillance
Occupational Environmental Epidemiology Branch
Division of Public Health
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
1912 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1912
Phone: (919) 707-5940
Fax: (919) 870-4810
E-mail: sheila.higgins@dhhs.nc.gov

 

North Dakota

Terry Dwelle, M.D. 
State Health Officer
North Dakota Department of Health
600 East Blvd Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505
Phone: (701) 328-2372
Fax: (701) 328-1412
E-mail: tdwelle@nd.gov

 

Ohio

Rosemary Duffy, DDS, MPH 
Captain, U.S. Public Health Service
State Chronic Disease Epidemiologist
Assigned to the Ohio Department of Health from CDC
246 N. High Street, 7th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
Phone: (614) 644-8598
Fax: (614) 644-8526
E-mail: rosemary.duffy@odh.ohio.gov

 

Oklahoma

Janice Mouser, RN
Occupational POC, RN
Oklahoma State Department of Health
1000 N.E. 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
Phone: (405) 271-5243
Fax: (405) 271-3458
E-mail: JaniceM@health.ok.gov
 

 

Oregon

Jae Douglas, PhD., MSW 
Section Manager, Research & Education Services
Office of Environmental Public Health
Oregon Public Health Division
Oregon Health Authority
800 NE Oregon, #640
Portland, OR 97232-2162
Phone: (971) 673-1139
E-mail: jae.p.douglas@state.or.us

 

Palau, Republic of*

 

Pennsylvania

James Logue
Director, Pennsylvania Department of Health
Division of Environmental Health Epidemiology
Room 925, H & W Building
7th Forster Street
Harrisburg, PA17120
Phone: (717) 787-1708
Fax: (717) 346-3286
E-mail: jlogue@pa.gov

 

Puerto Rico

Enid Garcia Rivera
E-mail: ejgarcia@salud.gov.pr

John Rullan
State Epidemiologist
Puerto Rico Department of Health
PO Box 70184
San Juan, PR 00936-8184
Phone:(787) 765-2929, ext.3551
E-mail: jrullan@salud.gov.pr

 

Rhode Island

James Bruckshaw 
Rhode Island Department of Health
Cannon Building, Room 206
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908
Phone: (401) 222-7745
Fax: (401)222-2456
E-mail: James.Bruckshaw@health.ri.gov

Robert Vanderslice
State Epidemiologist
E-mail: BobV@doh.state.ri.us

 

South Carolina

Fran W. Marshall, J.D., MSPH
State Toxicologist
Program Manager, Environmental Public Health and Toxicology
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
2600 Bull Street, Room 2673
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-9197
Fax: (803) 898-3722
E-mail: marshafw@.dhec.sc.gov

 

South Dakota

Clark Hepper
Director, Health Protection
South Dakota Department of Health
615 E. Fourth Street
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-3364
Fax: (605) 773-6667
E-mail: clark.hepper@state.sd.us

Lon Kightlinger
State Epidemiologist
Phone:(605) 773-3737
E-mail: lon.kightlinger@state.sd.us

 

Tennessee

Donna Hurst, MS, BS, RN
Medical Services Section
Tennessee Department of Health
5th Floor, Cordell Hull Building
425 5th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 741-5225
Fax: (615) 532-2785
E-mail: Donna.Hurst@state.tn.us

Texas

John F. Villanacci, Ph.D.
NREMT-I, Director
Environmental Epidemiology and Disease Registries Section; MC 1964
Chair, DSHS Institutional Review Board #1
Texas Department of State Health Services
P.O.Box 149347
Austin, Texas  78714-9347
Phone: (512) 776-6351
Fax: (512) 776-7689

Utah

Sam LeFevre 
Environmental Epidemiologist
Utah Department of Health
Office of Epidemiology
288 North 1460 West
P.O. Box 142104
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2104
Phone: (801) 538-6191
Fax: (801) 538-6564
E-mail: slefevre@utah.gov

Vermont

Michael Sullivan MBA, MT(ASCP)
Epidemiology Surveillance Specialist
Vermont Department of Health
Healthy Homes Program
108 Cherry Street
Burlington, VT 05402
Phone:(802)652-2061
Fax: (802) 863-7483
E-mail: michael.sullivan@state.vt.us

Virgin Islands*

Virginia

Dwight Flammia, Ph.D.
State Public Health Toxicologist
Division of Environmental Epidemiology
Virginia Department of Health
109 Governor Street, Rm 423
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 864-8127
Fax: (804) 864-8131
E-mail: dwight.flammia@vdh.virginia.gov

Washington

David Bonauto, MD, MPH
Associate Medical Director
Safety and Health Assessment and Research for Prevention Program
Washington State Department of Labor and Industires
P.O. Box 44330
Olympia, WA 98504-4330
Phone: (360) 902-5664
Fax: (360) 902-5672
E-mail: David.Bonauto@Lni.wa.gov

 

Juliet VanEenwyk, PhD
State Epidemiologist for Non-Infectious Conditions
Washington State Department of Health
P.O. Box 47812
Olympia, WA 98504-7812
Phone: (360) 236-4250
Fax: (360) 236-4245
E-mail: Juliet.VanEenwyk@doh.wa.gov

West Virginia

Randy C. Curtis
Director, Radiation, Toxics and Indoor Air Division
Bureau for Public Health
Office of Environmental Health
Capital and Washington Street
1 Davis, Suite 200
Charleston, WV25301
Phone: (304) 558-6721
Fax: (304) 558-1289
E-mail: randy.c.curtis@wv.gov

Wisconsin

Henry Anderson, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
Bureau of Occupational Health
1 West Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 266-1253
Fax: (608) 267-0402
E-mail: Henry.Anderson@dhs.wisconsin.gov

 

Rabeeha Ghaffar
Occupational Health Program Manager
Bureau of Environmental and Occupational Health
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
1 West Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: (608) 264-9829

Wyoming

C. Mack Sewell, DrPH, MS
State Occupational Epidemiologist
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services
1510 E. Pershing Blvd., Room 2043
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7671
Email: mack.sewell@wyo.gov

 

* Information not available

 
Contact Us:
  • Page last reviewed: February 19, 2014
  • Page last updated: February 19, 2014
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC-INFO