

ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIATION AND WORKER HEALTH

1150 Tusculum Ave Cincinnati, Ohio 45226 (513) 533-6825

May 20, 2020

A SALUTE TO THEODORE (TED) KATZ

The Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health extends its congratulations and best wishes to Theodore (Ted) Katz upon his retirement as the Designated Federal Official for the Board, concurrent with his retirement from the Centers for Disease Control's National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

For the past 12 years, Ted provided organizational leadership, operational advice, and procedural wisdom for the ABRWH members, for the Board's contractor SC&A, and for the members of the DCAS group at NIOSH.

In all these activities, the ABRWH members have observed Ted's clear understanding of the requirements of the EEOICPA Program and its regulations, his fairness in dealing with all stakeholders in the dose reconstruction activities, and his personal interest in all the individuals involved.

He has demonstrated a clear understanding of the ramifications of the science and public policy issues that have arisen over the years. His advice on such issues has been valued and well-received by the Board.

He has carried out his duties in what was often a politically charged environment and has done so with diplomacy and consideration for others. Ted shows himself to be a person of integrity, honesty, and trustworthiness in all that he does.

As Ted Katz retires from his years as the Designated Federal Official for the ABRWH, the Board members offer him our gratitude for the work he has done on our behalf.

We send him our best wishes in all that he does in the next phase of his life and hope that we will all get together in the future.

<u>CHAIRMAN</u>

Vacant

<u>MEMBERS</u>

Henry Anderson, M.D. Madison, Wisconsin

Josie Beach Richland, Washington

Bradley P. Clawson Rexburg, Idaho

R. William Field, Ph.D. Iowa City, Iowa

David Kotelchuck, Ph.D. New York, New York

James E. Lockey, M.D. Cincinnati, Ohio

David B. Richardson, Ph.D. Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Genevieve S. Roessler, Ph.D. Elysian, Minnesota

Phillip Schofield Bosque Farm, New Mexico

Loretta R. Valerio Santa Fe, New Mexico

Paul L. Ziemer, Ph.D. Lafayette, Indiana

STAFF

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Theodore M. Katz, MPA Atlanta, Georgia

COMMITTEE MANAGEMENT

Zaida Burgos Atlanta, Georgia