

ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIATION AND WORKER HEALTH

1150 Tusculum Ave Cincinnati, Ohio 45226 (513) 533-6825

October 29, 2020

The Honorable Alex M. Azar II Secretary Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20201

Dear Mr. Secretary:

The Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health (The Board) has evaluated Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) Petition 00247 concerning workers at the Superior Steel Co. in Carnegie, Pennsylvania, under the statutory requirements established by the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000 and incorporated into 42 C.F.R. § 83.13.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) has recommended that individual dose reconstructions are feasible for:

"All atomic weapons employees who worked in any area at Superior Steel Co. in Carnegie, Pennsylvania, during the period from January 1, 1952, through December 31, 1957."

NIOSH found that it has access to sufficient exposure monitoring and other information necessary to estimate with sufficient accuracy the radiation dose received by members of this group, and therefore a class covering this group should not be added to the SEC. The Board concurs with this determination.

Based on these considerations and the discussion at the August 26 and 27, 2020, Board meeting held by conference call, the Board agrees with the NIOSH recommendation that this class not be added to the SEC.

Enclosed is the documentation from the Board meeting where this SEC class was discussed. The documentation includes copies of the petition, the NIOSH review thereof, and related materials. If any of these items are unavailable at this time, they will follow shortly.

Sincerely,

[Signature on File]

Paul Ziemer, Ph.D. Chair, TBD 6000 work Group On behalf of the Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health

Enclosure

CHAIRMAN

Vacant

<u>MEMBERS</u>

Henry Anderson, M.D. Madison, Wisconsin

Josie Beach Richland, Washington

Bradley P. Clawson Rexburg, Idaho

R. William Field, Ph.D. Iowa City, Iowa

David Kotelchuck, Ph.D. New York, New York

James E. Lockey, M.D. Cincinnati, Ohio

David B. Richardson, Ph.D. Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Genevieve S. Roessler, Ph.D. Elysian, Minnesota

Phillip Schofield Bosque Farm, New Mexico

Loretta R. Valerio Santa Fe, New Mexico

Paul L. Ziemer, Ph.D. Lafayette, Indiana

STAFF

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Rashaun Roberts, Ph.D. Atlanta, Georgia

COMMITTEE MANAGEMENT

Zaida Burgos Atlanta, Georgia