Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

Injury Data and Resources

Changes to the Matrix for May 2002 Update

Traumatic Brain Injury

This version of the matrix identifies three types of traumatic brain injury (TBI) based on ICD-9-CM codes for purposes of classification. Head injuries are labeled as Type 1 TBI if there are codes for an intracranial injury or a moderate or a prolonged loss of consciousness (LOC), Shaken Infant Syndrome (SIS), or injuries to the optic nerve pathways. In previous versions of the matrix, SIS was included in the row for System Wide Conditions. Type 2 TBI includes coded head injuries with no intracranial injury coded, and LOC of less than 1 hour coded, or LOC of unknown duration coded, or unspecified level of consciousness coded. Type 3 TBI includes patients with no intracranial injury coded and no LOC coded.

This development is the result of a consensus reached among the Israeli Trauma Registry team, the CDC/NCIPC TBI team, and the ICE on International Statistics.

See the revised SAS codes statements for these new classifications.



ICE map image

Contact Us:
  • Office of Analysis and Epidemiology
    National Center for Health Statistics
    3311 Toledo Rd
    Hyattsville, MD 20782-2064
  • 1 (800) 232-4636
  • Page last reviewed: November 6, 2015
  • Page last updated: June 24, 2010
  • Content source: CDC/National Center for Health Statistics
  • The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
    800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC-INFO