Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

About NCEH and EHSB

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Summer Program in Environmental Health (SUPEH) is a 10-week internship for students majoring in environmental health. Interns participate in activities with the Environmental Health Services Branch (EHSB) of CDC’s National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH). The internship is located at CDC’s Chamblee campus and lasts 10 weeks. Interns engage in summer-long projects. They also participate in trips and activities to acquaint them with environmental health activities at the local, state, tribal, and federal levels.

To learn more about the internship, read Putting Theory into Practice - CDC's Summer Program in Environmental Health (SUPEH). [PDF - 508 KB]

2011 SUPEH interns visiting a drinking water treatment facility

2011 SUPEH interns visiting a drinking water treatment facility.

NCEH Mission

NCEH serves the public through responsive public health actions to promote healthy and safe environments and prevent harmful exposures.

EHSB Objective

EHSB's objective is to strengthen the role of state, local, and national environmental health programs and professionals to better anticipate, identify, and respond to adverse environmental exposures and the human health consequences of these exposures.

SUPEH in the News

UW-Eau Claire student one of four in U.S. chosen for CDC internship.

CDC’s Summer Program in Environmental Health Enters Fifth Year. [PDF - 1.4 MB] (Page 2)

CDC Provides Summer Internships to Students from EHAC Accredited Programs. [PDF - 416 KB] (Page 4)



  • Kymry Brooks, Findlay University
  • Rachel Johnson, Baylor University
  • Andrew Kleist, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
  • Amy Wong, University of Georgia


  • Andrew Caudill, University of Georgia
  • Kyndall Dye, University of Georgia
  • Momoka Nakamura, University of Washington
  • Nicole Robertson, Ohio University


  • Alex Choo, Illinois State University
  • Jacob Gerke, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Victoria Sellers, East Carolina University
  • Maha Syed, University of Georgia


  • Abigail Boorstin, University of Georgia
  • Kyle Hobson, Old Dominion University
  • Hannah Reed, Colorado State University
  • Rachel Spencer, University of Georgia


  • James Alan Goggins, Western Carolina University
  • Samantha Kunze, Western Carolina University
  • Samantha Kantrowitz, Colorado State University
  • Jay Nielsen, University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

SUPEH Internship Experiences

Read about four 2011 SUPEH interns' experiences in Environmental Health Internship Essentials. [PDF - 208 KB]

Following are SUPEH intern presentations and reports. These documents have not been revised or edited to conform to agency standards. The findings and conclusions in these reports are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the views of CDC.

Jacob Gerke, 2011 SUPEH intern, sampling pool water

Jacob Gerke, 2011 SUPEH intern, sampling pool water.

For more information on environmental health internships, visit the EHS Workforce Development Internship Experiences page.

Top of Page


Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    1600 Clifton Rd
    Atlanta, GA 30333
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
    Contact CDC-INFO The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30333, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #