Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

ICD-9 Codes

Effective October 1, 2011, six new categories of International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Edition, Clinical Modification (ICD-9-CM) codes for thalassemia are now available, allowing for a more accurate diagnosis of the type of thalassemia with which an individual has been diagnosed. Previously, there was only one code to classify all forms of non-sickle-cell–related thalassemia. This single code was not sufficient to represent accurately the spectrum that ranges from asymptomatic patients (those who are silent carriers or have thalassemia trait) to severe patients (those with thalassemia major). The new codes have separate categories for different thalassemia diagnoses.

Find complete information on the diagnosis codes and corresponding descriptions >>


Learn More about Health Insurance Market Place

CDC 24/7 – Saving Lives. Protecting People. Saving Money Through Prevention. Learn More About How CDC Works For You…
Contact Us:
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

    National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities

    Division of Blood Disorders

    1600 Clifton Road
    MS E-87
    Atlanta, GA 30333
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
  • Contact CDC-INFO The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC-INFO