Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

NHWP Communities

NHWP Community Site Selection

The following criteria were used to identify and select community sites:

  • County level health outcomes and health risk factor data;
  • Access to community-based health resources such as a community hospital, CDC and non CDC-funded state and community-based health initiatives and programs (e.g., Community Transformation Grants), and the presence of local organizations that have experience supporting workplace health programs; and
  • A sufficient employer base and overall population to support the program.

Preference was given to communities with significant health disparities and to communities that allowed for the inclusion of urban/rural localities, industry sector diversity, and demographic diversity. Based on these criteria, the following sites have been selected with their local community director program contacts:

Click on the map below to visit each NHWP Community profile.

The figure shows a map of the United States. Seven states are highlighted including: California, Indiana, Maine, Missouri, Tennessee, Texas, and Washington. Each of these seven states has a red dot indicating one of the participating community sites in the National Healthy Worksite Program. The seven community sites are: Kern County, CA; Marion County, IN; Somerset County, ME; Buchanan County, MO; Shelby County, TN; Harris County, TX; and Pierce County, WA. Pierce County, WA Kern County, CAHarris County, TXBuchanan County, MOShelby County, TNMarion County, INPhiladelphia County, PASomerset County, ME

For more information visit the site selection process [PDF - 722KB] including information on how employers can participate [PDF - 289KB] in the National Healthy Worksite Program.


View the NHWP Site Selection Presentation:

You need the Flash plugin to view this video.