Skip directly to local search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home


This document was developed, under the direction of Renee Stein, Jane Mezoff, and Denise Duran of the Program Evaluation Branch, as part of the Program and Data Quality Assessment and Standards for Counseling, Testing, and Referral at Health Departments Funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) contract HHSP23320045018XI.

We also thank Sam Dooley, Michael Fanning, Joseph Prejean, Gene Shelley, Dale Stratford and Gary Uhl, in the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, CDC, and Marie Morgan, writer-editor in the Division of Creative Services, CDC, who contributed to the development and review of this document. Walter Chow, Shakira Fardan, Veronica McCants, Melissa Thomas-Proctor, Tim Quinn and Carlos Toledo provided valuable assistance in activities related to site visits.

We also recognize the efforts of the ICF Macro staff members who participated in the research, development, and production of this document: Lisa Belcher, David Cotton, Laura Donnelly, Emily Jenkins, Erica Krisel, Tamara Lamia, and Paul Topete. Alan Scott provided graphic design and desktop publishing.

Publication of these standards would not have been possible without the contributions of the health departments and community-based organizations that contributed their time and expertise regarding best practices in HIV counseling, testing, and referral: Wendy Adams, Carol Bohumolski, William Hines, Paulette McClure, and Yaqub Salehi, Ohio Department of Health; Barbara Agatstein, Vida Behn Chernoff, Karen Bovell, Alma Candelas, Tom Chesnut, Lisa Dimenno, Neal Gordon, Beth Justiniano, Joe Koblica, Ron Massaroni, Dan O’Connell, Lisa Roland-Labiosa, April Richardson Moore, Diane Rudnick, Bonnie Schaffer, Bonita Scott, Megan Tesoriero, and Lisa Wend, New York State Department of Health; Noah Carraher, Stella Cheung, Teri Dowling, Shelley Facente, Henry Fisher-Raymond, Barbara Garcia, Dara Geckeler, Matt Jennings, Ju Lei Kelly, Irene Lee, Omar Menendez, Tracey Packer, Maree Kay Parisi, Marise Rodriguez, Esther Sarabia, and Susan Scheer, San Francisco Department of Public Health; Barbara Adler and Lisa Loeb, AIDS Health Project; Dale Gluth, Magnet; Erin Barkema, Don Callaghan, Mary Costello, Randy Mayer, Shane Scharer, and Pat Young, Iowa Department of Public Health; Jordan Selha and Jill Whitson, AIDS Project of Central Iowa; Jim Luther, Luther Consulting; Hope Cassidy-Stewart and Jenna McCall, Maryland State AIDS Administration; Keith Floyd, Nestor Rocha, and Helen Teale, District of Columbia Department of Health; Jane Conklin and Jeanine Hernandez, Michigan Department of Community Health; Michael Banner, Our Common Welfare; Jennifer Carmona, New York City Community Planning Group; Steve Bailous, National Association of People with AIDS; Ravinia Hayes-Cozier, National Minority AIDS Council.


National HIV/AIDS Strategy Updates Access to U.S. Government HIV / AIDS information The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC–INFO
A-Z Index
  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z
  27. #