Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

WISEWOMAN Program Locations


CDC funds 22 WISEWOMAN programs, which operate on the local level in states and tribal organizations. WISEWOMAN programs provide standard preventive services including blood pressure and cholesterol testing. WISEWOMAN programs also offer testing for diabetes. Women are not just tested and referred, but can also take advantage of lifestyle programs that target poor nutrition, physical inactivity, and smoking, such as healthy cooking classes, fitness competitions, or quit-smoking classes. The lifestyle programs may vary from program to program, but all are designed to promote lasting, healthy changes.

2014 Wisewoman Program Map. Wisewoman states funded are Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Southcentral Foundation, Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. See listing below.

WISEWOMAN Programs, 2014

  1. Alabama Department of Public Health
  2. Arkansas Department of Health
  3. California Department of Public Health
  4. Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
  5. Connecticut Department of Public Health
  6. Illinois Department of Public Health
  7. Indiana State Department of Health
  8. Iowa Department of Public Health
  9. Michigan Department of Community Health
  10. Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
  11. Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
  12. North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
  13. Oregon Department of Human Services
  14. Pennsylvania Department of Health
  15. Rhode Island Department of Health
  16. Southcentral Foundation
  17. Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium
  18. South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
  19. Utah Department of Health
  20. Vermont Department of Health
  21. West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services
  22. Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Note: To join the WISEWOMAN program, you must be enrolled in the National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program (NBCCEDP) in your state. Although NBCCEDP is available in all 50 states, the WISEWOMAN program is not. The states listed above are the only states that have WISEWOMAN programs. If there is not a WISEWOMAN program in your state, but you are still in need of medical care, visit the HRSA Find a Health Center for a list of health centers.