Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

National Violent Death Reporting System

In 2002 the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) began implementing the National Violent Death Reporting System (NVDRS). NVDRS is a state-based surveillance system that links data from law enforcement, coroners and medical examiners, vital statistics, and crime laboratories to assist each participating state in designing and implementing tailored prevention and intervention efforts. NVDRS provides data on violence trends at national and regional levels; each state can access all of these important data elements from one central database.

States that are funded for NVDRS operate under a cooperative agreement with CDC to whom all violent deaths are voluntarily reported. NVDRS funded six states initially. In 2014 CDC received funding to expand the system to a total of 32 states. The goal is to include eventually all 50 states, all U.S. territories, and the District of Columbia in the system.

NVDRS State Profiles

Alaska

AlaskaDivision of Public Health
3601 C Street, Suite 540
P.O. Box 240249
Anchorage, AK 99524-0249

Principal Investigator:
Deborah Choromanski Hull-Jilly, MPH, CLS
Phone: 907-269-8078
Fax: 907-269-2041
E-mail: deborah_jilly@health.state.ak.us

Project Coordinator:
Scott Saxon
Phone: 907-269-8050
Fax: 907-269-2041
E-mail: scott_saxon@health.state.ak.us

Arizona

ArizonaArizona State University
500 N. 3rd Street, Suite 200

Principal Investigator: Charles M. Katz, Ph.D.
Phone: 602-496-1471
Fax: 602-496-1494
E-mail: ckatz@asu.edu

Colorado

ColoradoColorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Statistics Program/Colorado Violent Death Reporting System
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO  80246

Principal Investigator:  Kirk Bol, MSPH
Phone: 303-692-2170
Fax: 303-691-7821
Email: kirk.bol@state.co.us

Connecticut

ConnecticutConnecticut State Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, MS 11-HLS
Hartford CT, 06134

Principal Investigator: Chinedu R. Okeke MD, MPH-TM, MPA
Phone: 860-509-7654
Fax: 860-509-7855
E-mail: Chinedu.okeke@ct.gov

Georgia

GeorgiaGeorgia Department of Public Health
2 Peachtree Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30303

Principal Investigator: Rana Bayakly
Phone: 404-657-2617
Fax: 404-463-0780
E-mail: rana.bayakly@dph.ga.gov

Hawaii

HawaiiHawaii State Department of Health
Office of Health Status Monitoring
1250 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

Principal Investigator: Alvin T. Onaka, Ph.D.
Phone: 808-586-4604
Fax: 808-586-4606
E-mail: alvino@hawaii.edu

Illinois

IllinoisAnn & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Child Health Data Lab
225 E. Chicago Ave, Box 156
Chicago, IL 60611

Principal Investigator: Maryann Mason, PhD
Phone: 312-227-7026
Fax: 312-227-9523
E-mail: mmason@luriechildrens.org

Indiana

IndianaIndiana State Department of Health
Division of Trauma and Injury Prevention
2 North Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Principal Investigator: Katie Hokanson
Phone: 317-234-2865
Fax: 317-233-8199
E-mail: khokanson@isdh.in.gov

Iowa

IowaOffice of Disability, Injury & Violence Prevention
Iowa Department of Public Health
321 E. 12th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075

Principal Investigator: Kathy Stone MSW
Program Director: Binnie LeHew MSW
Phone: 515-281-5032
Email: Kathy.Stone@idph.iowa.gov
Email: Vivian.Lehew@idph.iowa.gov

Kansas

KansasBureau of Health Promotion
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
1000 SW Jackson Street, Suite 230
Topeka, KS 66612-1274

Principal Investigator: Paula Clayton, MS, RD, LD
Program Director: Lori Haskett
Phone: 785-296-8916
FAX: 785-296-8059
Email: pclayton@kdheks.gov
Email: LHaskett@kdheks.gov

Kentucky

KentuckyUniversity of Kentucky
Kentucky Injury Prevention Research Center/KVDRS
333 Waller Avenue, Suite 200
Lexington, KY 40504

Principal Investigator:
Sabrina Walsh, DrPH
Phone: 859-257-6711
Fax: 859-257-3909
E-mail: slwals0@uky.edu

Maine

MaineMaine Office of Chief Medical Examiner
State House Station #37
Augusta, ME 04333-0037

Co-Principal Investigator: Margaret Greenwald MD
Phone: 207-624-7185
Fax: 207-624-7178
E-mail: margaret.greenwald@maine.gov

University of Maine
Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center
York Complex
Orono, ME 04469-5784

Project Director: Marcella H. Sorg, PhD
Phone: 207-581-2596
Fax: 207-581-1266
E-mail: mhsorg@maine.edu

Maryland

MarylandMaryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
201 West Preston Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

Program Coordinator: Alex Jansson
Phone: 410-767-6807
Fax: 410-333-5030
E-mail: alexandra.jansson@maryland.gov

Massachusetts

MassachusettsMassachusetts Department of Public Health
Massachusetts Violent Death Reporting System
250 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Principal Investigator: Lauren Larochelle
Phone: (617) 624-5664
Fax: (617) 624-5099

E-mail: lauren.larochelle@state.ma.us

Michigan

MichiganMichigan Dept of Community Health
Injury and Violence Prevention Section
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909

Principal Investigator: Patricia Smith, MS
Phone: 517-335-9703
Fax: 517-335-9669
E-mail: smithpatk@michigan.gov

Minnesota

MinnesotaMinnesota Department of Health
Injury and Violence Prevention
85 East Seventh Place, Suite 220
PO Box 64882
St. Paul, MN 55164-0882

Principal Investigator: Jon Roesler, MS
Phone: 651-201-5487
Fax: 651-201-5800
E-mail: jon.roesler@state.mn.us

New Hampshire

New HampshireNew Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
Maternal and Child Health Section
29 Hazen Drive, 2nd Floor East
Concord, NH 03301

Principal Investigator: JoAnne Miles, MPH
Phone: 603-271-5384
Fax: 603-271-4519
E-mail:joanne.e.miles@dhhs.state.nh.us

New Jersey

 New JerseyNew Jersey Department of Health
Center for Health Statistics
PO Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360

Principal Investigator: Bretta Jacquemin, MPH
Phone: 609-984-6703
Fax: 609-984-7633
E-mail: bretta.jacquemin@doh.state.nj.us

New Mexico

New MexicoNew Mexico Department of Health
1190 S. St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM 87505

Principal Investigator: Tierney Murphy, MD, MPH
Phone: 505-827-6816
Fax: 505-827-2796
E-mail: tierney.murphy@state.nm.us

New York

New YorkNew York State Department of Health
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower Building, Room 1315
Albany, New York 12237
(518) 402-7900

Principal Investigator: Kitty H. Gelberg, Ph.D., MPH
E-mail: Kitty.Gelberg@health.ny.gov

Project Manager: Kimberly Friello
E-mail: Kimberly.Friello@health.ny.gov

North Carolina

North CarolinaNorth Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
1915 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1915

Principal Investigator:
Scott Proescholdbell, MPH
Phone: 919-707-5442
Fax: 919-870-4844
E-mail: scott.proescholdbell@dhhs.nc.gov

Project Manager:
Tammy Norwood
Phone: 919-707-5432
Fax: 877-406-5026
E-mail: tammy.norwood@dhhs.nc.gov

Ohio

	OhioOhio Department of Health
246 North High Street, 8th floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Principal Investigator:
Jolene DeFiore-Hyrmer, MPH
Phone: 614-644-0135
Email:  jolene.dhyrmer@odh.ohio.gov

Program Manager:
Luke Werhan, MPA
Phone: 614-644-8816
Fax: 614-564-2488
Email: luke.werhan@odh.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

	OklahomaOklahoma State Department of Health
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299

Principal Investigator/Project Director:
Sheryll Brown, MPH
Phone: 405-271-3430
Fax: 405-271-2799
E-mail: sherylls@health.ok.gov

Oregon

OregonOregon Department of Health
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 772
Portland, OR 97232-2162

Principal Investigator:
Lisa Millet
Phone: 971-673-1059
E-mail: lisa.m.millet@state.or.us

Project Epidemiologist:
Xun Shen
Phone: 971-673-1098
E-mail: Xun.Shen@state.or.us

Pennsylvania

PennsylvaniaPennsylvania Department of Health
Bureau of Health Promotion and Risk Reduction
Room 1008, Health & Welfare Building
625 Forster Street
Harrisburg, PA 17120-0701

Principal Investigator: Cynthia Malinen
E-mail: cmalinen@pa.gov

Rhode Island

Rhode IslandRhode Island Department of Health
3 Capitol Hill, Room 407
Providence, RI 02908

Principal Investigator: Samara Viner Brown, MPH
Phone: 401-222-5122
Fax: 401-222-5517
E-mail: samara.viner-brown@health.ri.gov

South Carolina

South CarolinaSouth Carolina Department of Health
Mills/Jarrett Building, Box 101106
Columbia, SC 29211

Principal Investigator:
Keisha S. Adams
Phone: 803-545-4387
Fax: 803-253-4001
Email: adamsks@dhec.sc.gov

Utah

	UtahUtah Department of Health
Violence and Injury Prevention Program
PO Box 142106
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106

Principal Investigator:
Patricia Keller, MPH, RN
Phone: 801-538-6864
Fax: 801-538-9134
E-mail: trishakeller@utah.gov

Project Coordinator:
Teresa Brechlin
Phone: 801-538-6888
E-mail: tbrechline@utah.gov

Vermont

VermontComing soon.

Virginia

VirginiaVirginia Department of Health
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
400 East Jackson Street
Richmond, VA 23219-3694

Principal Investigator:
Virginia Powell, PhD
Phone: 804-205-3856
Fax: 804-786-1877
E-mail: virginia.powell@vdh.virginia.gov

Washington

WashingtonWashington State Department of Health
PO Box 47853
Olympia, WA 98504-7853

Principal Investigator: Therese Hansen
Phone: 360-236-2869
Fax: 360-236-2830
E-mail: therese.hansen@doh.wa.gov

Wisconsin

WisconsinWisconsin Department of Health Services
1 West Wilson Street, Rm 233
Madison, WI 53703

Principal Investigator: Linda Hale
Email: Linda.Hale@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Project Coordinator: Brittany Grogan, MPH
Phone: 608-267-9008
Fax: 608-267-3824
E-mail: Brittany.Grogan@dhs.wi.gov

NVDRS Contact Information

Contact the NVDRS team at nvdrs-rad@cdc.gov  for the following:

  • Further information about the NVDRS RAD
  • Copies of the NVDRS RAD data sharing agreement
  • NVDRS coding manual and variable spec sheet
  • Proposal submission

CDC 24/7 campaign website badgeunderstanding evidence website badge

Top